Safety & Quality

The ANZICS Safety and Quality Committee works to promote world best practice standards in Australian and New Zealand Intensive Care Medicine. The Committee was formed following approval of its terms of reference at the October Board Meeting and AGM in 2000.​ 

Additionally, the Safety and Quality Committee aims to:

  • Promote safe patient centred care in Australian and New Zealand Intensive Care Units
  • Define best practice in Australian and New Zealand Intensive Care Units.
  • Promote awareness of important developments in intensive care safety and quality throughout Australia and New Zealand.     
  • Promote membership participation in the use of appropriate clinical indicators for measuring and comparing practice safety and quality Values.
  • Display leadership, integrity, responsibility and accountability to ourselves, our patients and the community

Main Objectives of The Committee are:

  • To represent the ANZICS in endeavours to establish and promote world best practice standards in intensive care medicine.
  • To improve access to and awareness of important developments in healthcare safety and quality.
  • To facilitate the development and distribution of suitable tools for monitoring of adverse incidents, safety, and quality in intensive care practice.
  • To assist in the development and promotion of comparative measures for intensive care services to evaluate their performance.
  • To develop the Society's policies and practices that encourage appropriate levels of community awareness and participation in safety and quality processes in intensive care.
  • To establish and maintain liaison with governments, health authorities, learned societies, and other non-governmental organisations on issues of safety and quality in intensive care medicine
ANZICS RRT Training Program 2016 DVD available for purchase11/05/2016 2:08 PMNews
2016 iRRS Conference draft Program released30/07/2015 4:53 PMNews
Safety and Quality Conference: The Deteriorating Patient18/05/2015 12:27 PMEvent update
Noradrenaline Survey Results and Discussion26/11/2014 11:06 AMPress release
ANZICS Percutaneous Dilatational Tracheostomy Statement26/11/2014 11:03 AMNews
1 - 5Next

Committee Members

  • Dr John Gowardman ​(QLD)​ (Chair)
  • Dr Angus Carter ​(Immediate Past Chair) 
  • Dr Deepak Bhonagiri (NSW)
  • Dr Arthas Flabouris (SA)
  • Dr Jonathan Barrett (VIC)
  • Dr Craig Carr (NZ)
  • Dr Simon Towler (WA)
  • Dr Chris James (Paediatric Representative)
  • Gladness Nethathe (Trainee Representative)
  • Dr Mary Pinder (CICM Representative)
  • Leah Hackney (NZCCCN Representative)
  • Malcolm Elliott (ACCCN Representative)